Yves Rocher Blackberry Silk Body Lotion

Summer Series – Post #4 – Yves Rocher Blackberry Silky Body Lotion Review

Its really hot and humid in Chennai. How is the weather in your city now? Last year, I started #SummerSeries posts where I spoke about products suitable for summers. Now that summer is back, its time to resume the summer series. Today, I am going to review a body lotion by Yves Rocher which provides light weight hydration. Click on the Read More button to know about this lotion.

About the brand – Yves Rocher

Yves Rocher is a one-of-a-kind Brand that has chosen to master every aspect of its operations. Multidisciplinary teams are working together to discover, isolate and formulate efficient ingredients and textures based on plants for beauty care. Our formulation charter goes beyond European regulations. All our products are developed to guarantee safety and effectiveness. We control the entire lifecycle of our products, which allows us to reduce our environmental footprint. Therefore, we decrease our consumption of non-renewable raw materials and use recycled or recyclable materials for our packaging.

What is it?

Experience the intense, delicate scent of Wild Blackberry. This body lotion, with its light texture, absorbs quickly. It leaves the skin soft and hydrated all day long.

Claims & Features:

  • Intense and delicate scent of wild blackberry
  • Light texture which is quickly absorbed by skin
  • Soft and hydrated skin which lasts the whole day
  • Contains organic shea butter, organic aloe vera gel and botanical glycerin
  • No animal ingredients
  • Made in France

Usage & Ingredients:

Apply the required amount of body lotion on damp skin to seal the moisture. Spread the product and watch it getting quickly absorbed. Store in a cool, dry place.

Yves Rocher Blackberry Silk Body Lotion - Ingredient List
Yves Rocher Blackberry Silk Body Lotion – Ingredient List

Ingredients list Analysis:

Good ones: Sweet Almond oil, Shea butter, Aloe vera gel, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Isononyl Isononanoate, Blackberry fruit extract, Arachidyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Coco-Caprylate/Caprate, Cetyl Alcohol, Behenyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Allantoin

Not so good ones: Methyl Paraben, Parfum/ Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Propyl Paraben, Ethyl Paraben, BHT, Geraniol, Citronellol, Linalool

Bad ones: Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene

This lotion contains a lot of emulsifying agents for hydration. Personally, I am not against parabens, but I don’t appreciate the mix of parabens and phenoxyethanol. Contains a lot of fragrance related ingredients which may irritate sensitive skin.

Price: INR 650 for 400 ml

Shelf Life: 3 years. MFD and Use Before Date are mentioned on the bottle. To be used within 6 months after opening the bottle.

Availability: Available at selective online shopping websites. I bought this from Health & Glow app.

My experience with the product:

Packaging: The body lotion comes in a sturdy plastic bottle. This doesn’t qualify for hygienic packaging as the lotion needs to be poured directly and we have little control over the quantity.

Texture: Has a lightweight, gel-like texture. Its more like a body milk in terms of texture.

Color & Fragrance: The lotion is light pink in color and looks like strawberry milk shake🤤. It has a berry fragrance and reminds me of kid’s syrup. On my skin, the fragrance lasts 4-6 hours, after which it becomes faint.

Performance: Gives a cooling sensation when applied and gets instantly absorbed on the skin. Provides light weight hydration which is perfect for summers. May not be sufficient for dry skin and would require reapplication.

Swatches:

Yves Rocher Blackberry Silk Body Lotion - Swatch
Yves Rocher Blackberry Silk Body Lotion – Swatch

My Thoughts: I purchased this huge bottle from Health & Glow app on offer. If I recall correctly, this big body lotion costed me INR 500. It spreads well and a little quantity goes a long way. This 400 ml bottle took a long time for me to finish. I like my body lotions to smell nice as it makes me feel fresh and good throughout the day. I haven’t smelled real blackberries but for comparison, I can say this smells like a mix of berries. I personally like the fragrance, but some may not, as it smells similar to a children’s health syrup. I apply the lotion immediately after shower around 7.30 AM and I can smell it on my skin till afternoon after which it becomes faint.

This is a light weight lotion and hence does not provide long lasting hydration. Applying the lotion on damp skin right after shower will help to seal the moisture. It sinks into the skin immediately and you won’t feel like you have applied something. You can roam around under the hot sun and this will not make you sweat or greasy. That’s the reason I have included this post under summer series. It is perfect for summers as mild moisturization is sufficient for my skin.

I have normal to slightly dry skin in summers which becomes dry during winters. This body lotion cannot keep me moisturized for an entire day during winter season. For winters, I use body butters and TBS ones are my favourite. What’s your favourite body butter? Dry skin people can skip this lotion and normal skin people will love this during summer.

I have emptied 90% of the bottle now and I liked using this lotion. But when it comes to repurchasing, I will skip this as I need something with more hydration and a cleaner ingredients list. Don’t get me wrong here, I am not saying this product has lots of bad ingredients (read the ingredients analysis above). Infact, this product has a decent ingredients list when compared with some of the most commonly used body lotions. I personally prefer something with lesser number of skin irritants.

Truth Vs. Claims:

Claims Truth
Intense, delicate scent of wild Blackberry Yes
Light texture which absorbs quickly Yes
Soft and hydrated skin all day long No. Dry skin needs reapplication. This would be sufficient for normal skin during summer

My likes about the product:

  • Light weight texture
  • Instant absorption
  • No sweaty or greasy feeling even under hot sun
  • Has few organic key ingredients
  • Contains lot of good moisturizing ingredients
  • Fragrance lasts 4-6 hours

My dislikes about the product:

  • Ingredients list could have been better
  • Suitable only for normal skin. Dry skin requires reapplication
  • Packaging should be improved

My Rating: 3.5/5

Do I recommend this? If you are looking for a hassle free body lotion to keep you fresh and hydrated during summers, you can give this a try.

Will I repurchase this? No. I need something with cleaner ingredients list and slightly more moisturization.

In a nutshell: A nice smelling body lotion perfect for hot and humid weather. Do not expect all day moisturization.

What body lotion do you use during summer? Do you prefer lightweight, gel type lotions or thick creams and butters? This reminds me of TBS Body yogurts and Nykaa wanderlust body milks. Have you tried those? Comment your answers below.

Check out previous posts of the summer series:

Stay hydrated this summer!

-Vibhushitha

One thought on “Summer Series – Post #4 – Yves Rocher Blackberry Silky Body Lotion Review

  1. […] Yves Rocher Blackberry Silky Body Lotion: If you have been following my blog or Instagram, you would have seen my detailed review on this body lotion along with a beautiful texture shot. At the time of writing the review, I had emptied 90% of the bottle and emptying the rest was a piece of cake. I loved the fruity fragrance of this light, body lotion. Provides mild, non-greasy moisturization which is ideal for summers. Best suited for hot and humid weather but dry skin beauties can give this a skip. Check out the full review here. […]

    Like

Leave a comment