Product Empties June 2020

Product Empties Review – June 2020

How are you doing people? Some countries have already started to ease lockdown and commercial sites are opening up. Here in India, there is a spike in recent times and a strict lockdown has been enforced in Chennai. I can’t wait for this to get over! Been dull lately due to lockdown and work, and also haven’t been using any product other than bare necessities. So June month empties consist of just the essentials and nothing fancy. Ready to find out which necessities I have been using?

Satliva Mango Rosemary Face Cream: This was my first product from Satliva brand. I purchased this after getting impressed by the brand’s values, goodness and purity of their ingredients. It claimed to be suitable for oily, acne prone skin and I had high expectations. But this was heavy and greasy for me. I did not enjoy using this and had to use it as a night cream due to its rich texture. Its more like a face butter than a cream. My mother, who has dry skin, also found it to be greasy. My friend, who has combination skin, liked this face cream a lot and she used Lakme 9 to 5 Weightless Mousse to combat the oiliness. This is a classic example of why skincare is always subjective; what works for one might not work for another and vice versa. I tried my best to empty this and used it on my elbows and ankles to finish this product. Click here to see the full review of this face cream.

Will I repurchase? No, I did not enjoy using this cream. But my friend wants to repurchase.

The Nature’s Co Vanilla Vitamin E Face Cream: I received this little guy in one of my Subscription boxes and this was my first product from the Nature’s Co brand. In general, I hate vanilla fragrance and I never use them, but this turned out to be an exception. It has a mild, sweet vanilla fragrance which I really like! Has a smooth, butter like texture which glides on skin to provide intense moisturization. Its slightly heavy for oily skin but suited me well during winters. My mom who has dry, mature skin loved this. Both of us enjoyed using this and I recommend this for normal to dry skin types.

Will I repurchase? Have already repurchased this on my mom’s request.

Banjaras Saffron Face Pack: Have been using this face pack since college! I think this is my 4th or 5th tube. I am unsure if you would have heard of this brand or not. It is a brand local to my region and teenagers usually start their skincare journey with this brand as it is very affordable. This one costed me less than INR 100. So the young me, like any other teenager, had used so many of their face packs out of which their sandalwood face pack and saffron face pack were repurchased. This face pack contains saffron, sandalwood and turmeric. Its a shame that only key ingredients have been mentioned. I like using this face pack but now, I realize that I have grown out of this. Have discovered other face packs now which are more effective.

Will I repurchase? Not anymore. But its a decent, pocket friendly starting point if you are new to skincare.

Yves Rocher Blackberry Silky Body Lotion: If you have been following my blog or Instagram, you would have seen my detailed review on this body lotion along with a beautiful texture shot. At the time of writing the review, I had emptied 90% of the bottle and emptying the rest was a piece of cake. I loved the fruity fragrance of this light, body lotion. Provides mild, non-greasy moisturization which is ideal for summers. Best suited for hot and humid weather but dry skin beauties can give this a skip. Check out the full review here.

Will I repurchase? I enjoyed using this lotion but I will not be repurchasing this as I prefer my TBS body yogurts over this.

Vaseline Healthy White Lightening Visible Fairness body lotion: Don’t know where to begin talking about this lotion. This was a body lotion that I enjoyed using during my naive college days. First, let me make one thing clear – no product is going to lighten your skin and we don’t need to either. Every skin tone is beautiful and I am against skin lightening advertisements and products. I purchased this lotion only to help with my tanned skin and found that it did help in getting rid of tan after continuous usage and gave me an even skin tone. My father too prefers using this lotion as a sunscreen if he is going to be under the sun. This is my 6th bottle and the only reason I continued purchasing this was, it really did give an even tone by getting rid of tan. Now, I have discovered other better body lotions with better quality of ingredients which also don’t promote skin whitening or lightening. I am just happy to finish this and throw it off. Unfortunately, I have one more bottle in my dad’s cupboard which also needs to go away.

Will I repurchase? Nope. Though I liked how it performed, I am not happy with the ingredients list and the skin lightening promotion.

Rose Water Rich Facial Sheet Mask: I spoke about this one in my Rose skin care collection post. This was gifted by my dad’s friend when he returned from Japan. He gave six of these, out of which this is the 5th one I have used. This sheet mask has rose water, hyaluronic acid and 35 kinds of vegetable extracts and claims to give clear and moisturized skin. This mask fits my face better than most masks and has flaps to cover eyelids as well. The serum in this mask smells heavenly and just like any other sheet mask, this one too has excess serum. I refrigerate the mask and leave it on my skin for 20 – 30 minutes. This method works great for my oily skin which leaves me feeling refreshed and nourished. Can’t say that the mask clears the skin, but it did impart an even tone look. I enjoy using this mask and I wish I had many of these.

Will I repurchase? I loved using this mask but I no longer purchase sheet masks. Comment below if you want to know why. Also, even if I wanted to purchase this one, I can’t as this is available only in Japan.

Emptying products is so satisfying, right? What’s the product that you’ve emptied recently? Have you used any of the products mentioned in this post?

You can see all of my empties here.

Whatever you do, do with all your heart ❤

-Vibhushitha.

8 thoughts on “Product Empties Review – June 2020

  1. Amazing! I second you on the skin lightening promotions! Admire your own complexion! Very true!

    Like

Leave a comment